Academic Programs

Academic Programs

There is a broad range of scientific fields gathered into faculties as part of the UIII’s studies in the future. In the first stage, UIII will begin with three Faculties: Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, Faculty of Education, and Faculty of Islamic Studies.

The UIII's teaching program is similar to graduate programs in other higher education institutions, where learning activities are conducted at the graduate and doctoral level. UIII examines Islam and the society through various disciplines, which already have established theories and methodologies. The Indonesian International Islamic University as a university does not incorporate all studies into a single institution, but accommodates them in Faculties and Departments.

The faculty is an academic institution that brings together and, at the same time, differentiates the branches of knowledge according to its basic tenet and methodology. The faculty accommodates various disciplines of study from the same branch in considerable numbers. The Faculty of Social Sciences hosts sociology, political science, psychology, economics, administration, anthropology, to geography. The Faculty of Humanities hosts law, history, literature, anthropology, language, philosophy, and so on. The Faculty of Religion (Theology) houses the sacred text studies (biblical studies), proselytization, religious education, divinity, and so on.

In the UIII’s nomenclature, the term faculty is synonymous with institute, and the term school refers to a more homogenous grouping of knowledge studies. Meanwhile, the term department refers to a type of knowledge grouping which has its own separate theory, methodology, and object of study. For example, political science focuses on power issues, sociology focuses on the structure and culture of society, economics focus on the allocation of goods and services, and psychology focuses on the phenomena of individual psyche. Each of these departments applies methodology developed in the social sciences branch, but focuses on separate studies and are thus able to build their own respective theoretical traditions.

There is a broad range of scientific fields gathered into faculties as part of the UIII’s studies. For the future, UIII plans to develop at least seven Faculties: Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Islamic Studies, Faculty of Economics and Finance, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Fine and Applied Arts, and Faculty of Education. In the first stage, the Indonesian International Islamic University will begin with three Faculties: Faculty of Social Sciences (which in English is translated as School of Social Sciences), Faculty of Humanities (School of Humanities), and Faculty of Islamic Studies (School of Islamic Studies).

Universitas Islam Internasional Indonesia